STATE OF ALABAMA COUNTY OF BALDWIN)
------------------------------------	---

RESOLUTION #2021-066 OF THE BALDWIN COUNTY COMMISSION

REGARDING PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE URBAN AREA DESIGNATION CRITERIA.

WHEREAS, the Baldwin County Commission (BCC) is a member of the Eastern Shore Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO); and

WHEREAS, the MPO was formed in 2012 to assist with transportation planning in the defined urbanized area in Baldwin County which includes the City of Spanish Fort, the City of Fairhope, the City of Daphne, the Town of Loxley, and the unincorporated areas of Baldwin County; and

WHEREAS, the MPO receives federal funding to plan and implement road and bridge projects, public transit, bicycles and pedestrians, freight, and other modes of transportation to accommodate the area's growth; and

WHEREAS, the U.S. Census Bureau has proposed changes to the Urban Area Designation Criteria for 2020 Census; and

WHEREAS, the following proposed changes could potentially impact the Eastern Shore MPO:

- Housing unit density equal to 1,000 persons/square mile threshold
- Qualify urban areas based on a minimum threshold of 4,000 housing units or 10,000 persons instead of a minimum threshold of 2,500 persons
- Maximum distances of jumps
- No longer distinguishing between types of urban areas
- No longer include the low density hop or jump "corridor" in the urban area
- No longer include low-density territory located within indentations formed during the urban area delineation process; and

WHEREAS, the proposed changes listed above raise serious concerns with significantly reducing or possibly eliminating the Eastern Shore as an urbanized area; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BALDWIN COUNTY COMMISSION, IN REGULAR SESSION ASSEMBLED, that the Baldwin County Commission hereby strongly opposes the proposed Urban Area Designation Criteria and urges the U.S. Census Bureau to reject the proposal.

DONE, at the County Seat, in Bay Minette, Alabama, and under the Seal of Baldwin County, Alabama, as affixed on this the 6th day of April 2021.

Commissioner Joe Davis, III

Chairman

Commissioner James E. Ball Vice Chairman

Commissioner Billie Jo Underwood Commissioner Charles F. G